17 May
$30 - $154


Penrith Symphony Orchestra

Stormer PSO Young Composer Prize-New Work
Saint-Saens Violin Concerto No.3
Tchaikovsky Marche Slave
Tchaikovsky Francesca di Rimini

A kaleidoscopic vision of colour and imagination, Tchaikovsky’s heart-rending depiction of Francesca di Rimini features, alongside the famous Marche Slave, and the lush Romanticism of Saint Saens last violin concerto.

Saint Saens dedicated the Violin Concerto No. 3 to the virtuoso Pablo de Sarasate, who premiered the work in 1880. The concerto is the most enduring of the three, perhaps due to its riches of melodic material and the subtlety and sophistication of the writing.

Ever the master of the emotional and dramatic, Tchaikovsky’s realisation of Francesca di Rimini is a saga of tragic fate and eternal damnation. The tone-poem displays the possibilities and colours of the orchestra to full effect, with its whirling tempests, tender exchanges and memories of passions past.

Cast & Creatives

Paul Terracini / Conductor

Olivia Kovalik / Violin

Related Events